Project Chrono: 4th Edition

A while back while I was playing through Chrono Trigger for the millionth and a half time, I got the idea to try and reconcile it into a pen and paper and quickly settled on the d20 system and quickly moved from basic d20 rules to the Saga rule set. The game was progressing nicely and even featured a free form, skill based magic system designed to let all characters build and cast their own spells, using the same template for the “techs” they developed over the course of their adventuring careers. It made it through it’s alpha test, with very few hiccups on the character spectrum, though I wasn’t quite happy with the way combat worked.

Fast forward to about a week and a half ago. I’m at work catching up on my backlog of podcasts, working my way through some episodes of Radio Free Hommlet (the d20 radio hosted DND 4th Edition podcast) when it hits me. This system is absolutely perfect for a game like Chrono.

Consider this a teaser and an official announcement of one of my many pet projects. I’ll hopefully be looking at dissecting the 4th Edition system and math and working on building classes and abilities to fit the feel of the Chrono Trigger world. I’ll keep you posted here as developments happen.

Leave a comment

Filed under Project Chrono

Leave a Reply

